2

1.) Why does my Tor Browser auto-reset the DisableNetwork setting to "1" after Tor Browser shutsdown for a clean "Exit"?

2.) How should I stop this settings auto-reset behavior so I do not have to re-edit the torrc configuration file every time I want to start Tor Browser?

3.) Does my manually resetting DisableNetwork to 0 before I restart Tor Browser harm my Tor online security settings in any way?

I run WinXP Home SP3 with local Administrator rights & the latest MS patches are up to date with the latest Tor Browser version 5.5.1. As far as I know, the McAfee Anti-Virus software I have installed does not interfere with Tor Browser or its settings. I have enabled the MS Security Center to enable ports 80, 443 for Tor Browser and obsf4 use.

Whenever I successfully open Tor Browser and eventually close Tor when I am finished, the DisableNetwork setting always auto-resets from 0 to 1 for no apparent reason. All other Tor Browser settings and changes are correctly saved, but not the DisableNetwork setting. No file or app error is listed in the WinXP system/app event log and DisableNetwork is not located in Firefox's about:config. The only Tor Browser listing for DisableNetwork is in torrc settings file. This unannounced DisableNetwork settings change prevents me from restarting Tor Browser unless I manually edit the Torrc file.

As a result, I only have 2 or 3 options to successfully restart Tor Browser.

The first option is to edit the text file c:\documents and settings\test user\desktop\tor browser\browser\torbrowser\data\tor\torrc to change the DisableNetwork setting from 1 to 0. Tor Browser will then run correctly after I make the DisableNetwork setting change. However DisableNetwork will later change back 1 when the Tor app is closed.

The second option is more tedious & time consuming, where I have to reinstall Tor Browser through a TorProject.org update or upgrade. Upon successful startup, I then have to reconfigure Tor Browser as if it is a totally new install of the software.

A third option after Tor Browser shutdown could be to create a batch file to copy a pre-saved torrc file that includes DisableNetwork 0 to overwrite the original torrc file. However, this is a temporary workaround and not a solution to why the DisableNetwork setting changes.

Any suggestion would be appreciated! I have experienced this same DisableNetwork settings problem when using Tor for the past several years...

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.