Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results

How do I delete all my contributions?

Occasionally, for various reasons, users of this site determine that they would like to have their contributions (questions, answers, discussions, articles) deleted and removed from the site. Unfortunately, this is not something that we will do.

Our goal is to create a comprehensive source of knowledge, and that means that others are depending on your contributions, not just today but for years to come. And as answers get edited and changed, your contributions become a part of that living record.

Additionally, the site’s Terms of Service state: “you grant Stack Overflow the perpetual and irrevocable right and license to access, use, process, copy, distribute, export, display and to commercially exploit such Subscriber Content … This means that you cannot revoke permission for Stack Overflow to publish, distribute, store and use such content and to allow others to have derivative rights to publish, distribute, store and use such content.” By using the site and contributing to it, you agree to those Terms of Service. For this reason, we are unable to honor the request to remove content.

However, we can offer one option instead: you may contact us and request that we disassociate your content from your profile, and then request that we delete your profile. Your contributions will remain, but they will no longer be attributed to you.